Stories from the field

Every week, we share some of the amazing stories that we get to hear from our students as they struggle (and succeed) at becoming software developers. These stories are their own, in their own words, and sometimes raw and uncut.

But they are real and authentic, just as they should be.

via Bella Woo:

One thing I absolutely love about my program and the instructor is that we’re all encouraged to find our own way. Every programmer approaches problems differently and the instructor understands and respects that. We’re always working with what we’ve already learned. There’s no taking shortcuts here at The Iron Yard.

via Scott Ross:

On Friday I wrote about making my True Detective filler-text generator. Considering I’d only been studying JavaScript for a week, making it work was a definite learning process, and I figured I’d share what I did with the internet.

via Shannon Armon:

The hard work at Iron Yard is paying off. We are 1/3 through the cohort and things are getting clearer every day. I’m not saying I can go make some shit yet, but I’m getting there and getting better. Putting in hours and getting results.

via Taylor Daugherty:

It is nearing the end of week 4 at the Iron Yard and we were all thinking “I’m exhausted and could use some rest.” Well, there’s probably less actual words and more moaning and groaning. But we got exactly what we asked for during today’s lecture.

via Ghaea Tam:

My cohort is awesome and we bounce ideas off each other and help each other through the obstacles.

via Michael Marcinek:

Honestly, one of the most daunting tasks when I was hacking together projects before starting at the Iron Yard, was figuring out if I had appropriately fetched all of the right sources for whatever crazy thing I was trying to install into my build. That won’t be an issue anymore.

via Amanda Hewitt:

To me, it’s like this awesome, extremely complex puzzle that I’m hellbent on figuring out. And the fact that I can do this for a living? That’s one of those things that make me wake up in giddy disbelief of how lucky I am that I get to do something I love.

via Jamie Gamblin:

But, I think programming has a stigma of being a left brain/analytical activity. Engineers and developers are supposed to be socially awkward, introverts that avoid people at all costs. Right? WRONG!

via Nick Leach:

What makes me even more grateful is how the Iron Yard goes to great depths to make sure that we do appreciate such things. We constantly learn the hard way first, which is particularly impressive given that it is only a 12 week program.

via Kelley Ann Rose:

This is invaluable knowledge, that not all Junior Devs know going into job interviews. For that, I thank you Iron Yard (and Tim Whitacre and JD Isaacks). Because you have taught us all so well. And we are only halfway done! Just think all that we’ll have accomplished in six more weeks.

via Polly Sileo:

Last week — week 3 of our 12 week Iron Yard course we tackled Active Record. It was different that anything I’ve seen before. I struggled with it quite a bit. There are so many parts to understand and there are so many things happening “magically” which is great — when you know all the conventions and know exactly how to do things so that everything talks nicely and gives me the information I want.

via Kyle Robinson:

At The Iron Yard, my goal isn’t just to develop programming skills that will get me a good job; that’s only one part of a much bigger picture. I’m determined to grow in knowledge (not just in programming knowledge), but in problem solving and dealing with challenges that would have, in the past, discouraged me or convinced me to give up. I want to be constantly challenging myself to create things and become a better person because that’s my truest nature – it’s much truer than being lazy and unambitious.

Until next week!

Leave a Reply

About Lelia King

Lelia is based in Greenville, SC. She loves all things communication and serves as Communications Director for The Iron Yard.