Stories from the Field

Every week we share some of the amazing stories that we get to hear about from our students as they struggle (and succeed) at becoming software developers. These stories are their own, in their own words, and sometimes raw and uncut.

But they are real and authentic, just as they should be.

via Charles Lueker:

The point is that this soup of curiosity, research, attempting something new, frustrating setbacks, trying again, sticking with it and creating something new are almost exactly the same in both programming and music. A coder who just figured out how to put two divs next to each other on the page has the same response as a new guitar player who keeps jamming an E-major chord around the house in their underwear.

via Bryan Dimas:

I would say that regardless of our nature, the power of our character should not be underestimated, it should rather be embraced. Everybody experiences challenges in life. Some challenges are greater than others. Some of them we overcome, but others we fail to overcome.

houston-hackathon

via Joey Poon:

I started dreaming in code a couple months back but it has recently become the dominant form of dreaming for me. I often find myself waking up to arrays and hashes.

via Ray Thompson:

Let me not leave the wrong impression; the coding is an absolute brain stressing moment. As said by my instructor, learning code may be the most frustrating and stressful undertaking anyone can do.

via Michael Z Cheng:

As I try to become a better programmer, I’m learning that how is just as important as what. Getting the correct result once, is a momentary victory on a trajectory towards disorder.

via John Schnettgoecke:

Appreciate every moment of excruciating difficulty, mind-numbing frustration, and hatred for all things code. If you approach every day with the goal of just GETTING BETTER, you will never be disappointed.

via Kelley Rose:

My classmates and myself, and anyone out there teaching themselves code or learning another way, have already challenged ourselves to learn a brand new trade.

via Jamie Gamblin:

It’s like cutting your lawn using scissors and then someone comes along and is like “hey, stupid, here’s a lawnmower.”

I’m learning how to use the lawnmower.

via Taylor Daugherty:

I’ll be looking forward to each Tuesday and the Fundamental of Programming course. It was truly a blast teaching the kids programming, and I hope it inspired them to program in their spare time. This class also helped me – I know I want to eventually do something in computer science education.

via Vi Pham:

Anyway, if you are learning to code, entirely online, on your own, at school, at a bootcamp, whatever, know that you do not struggle alone. There is a massive community of people with dark circles under their eyes. Maybe go out and meet them. That’s what I plan on doing (as much as my introversion shuns the idea! :P).

via Justin Combs:

Especially now, while I am facing adverse problems and a flood of intensely delivered information for prolonged times, that getting my body to increase oxygen intake and blood flow has truly shown remarkable effects. I feel more clarity and understanding of programming and coding issues that I may have faced earlier that day.

via Shannon Coward:

The program is intense and full of fun. The Iron Yard teaches you what the life of a developer is like and the skills you need to be a productive part the of the tech community. This adventure is very demanding, stressful, and worth it! So sit back, relax, and check in, its gonna be a bumpy ride.

via Michael Marcinek:

I am not going to lie, this week of classes has really knocked me down. I have had what felt like fleeting epiphanies where I really felt like I was getting down the basics of Javascript, but now, it’s Sunday night, just before 11pm. and I feel slightly demoralized.

via Parker Kirby:

Although it’s Friday and I’m sitting here typing up this blog I know that once I’m down I’m going right back to the homework, the books, the tutorials online, google, slack, all the places because I learned pretty early on in this program that everything and everyone is a resource and repetition is key. It has to stick one way or another and I’m still trying to find my rhythm.

via Robert Fine:

i finally realized, no matter what happens in my life. I still have 2 things, my beautiful fiance along with my family, and my deterimination to become a A class programmer! #ironyard!

via Reed Carson:

The best we can do is float like a log in the water, but not for very long because we have to breathe. This brings to mind a certain calvin and hobbes comic.

calvincrocodile

via Betty Hutchings:

I am so blessed to have this opportunity to do this. I can’t say enough about The Iron Yard staff. Everyone is so well informed and they really want to help you succeed. They recognize the difficulty and intensity of the situation and they are always ready to help, listen or make you laugh and lighten up the moment. Thanks to Brit, Sarah, Lindsay and all the others in Atlanta.

via Kyle Robinson:

I’m confident that I’m going to emerge from the program with powerful skills and refined thought patterns, but it’s not going to come easily. One of the biggest challenges I face is to become more adaptive and learn how to learn in a different manner than I ever have before.

via Nick Leach:

So far it has been an exciting and mentally stimulating experience. Every day has brought new and unique challenges, yet I’ve loved every second. I’ll write more on how I got there in the next post.

via Leslie Washington:

You may be wondering why someone with no prior experience would put themselves in front of a moving train. Why would someone force themselves into something that requires their brain to hurt so bad (really bad)?

Until next week folks! To infinity and beyond!

Leave a Reply

About John Saddington

trying to win the internet.