Patrick Vecchione: Restarting a Career After a 10 Year Break

From time to time we like to share the exciting “stories in the making” and allow you to get to know more about current students and graduates. From this vantage you can learn more about where they’ve come from and where they are going.

We hope their stories inspire you to think much bigger about your career in software and technology!

This is Patrick Vecchione’s story.

patrick-vecchioneWhat were you doing before The Iron Yard?

In 1993, I started a 12 year career as a software engineer, specializing in data conversion. By 2005, I had accumulated a nice little nest egg for retirement. So that’s what I did, I retired at the ripe old age of 32.

In 2007, I met the love of my life and future wife. My sizable nest egg shrunk just a little bit, but still enough not to worry about work. In 2008, our beautiful daughter was born; still not too worried about working, I have just enough left for the three of us.

Three months before I began at The Iron Yard in 2014, my wife and I received the wonderful news that we were expecting our second child. My nest egg imploded, now I needed to work. I couldn’t start my career from where I left off, I hadn’t done any programming for almost ten years, plus, I wasn’t interested in data conversion.

What I wanted was to start a new career in Web Development. That decision, ultimately, led me to The Iron Yard.

What made you ultimately decide on attending The Iron Yard?

When I decided to change careers, I knew I needed training. While there are many wonderful training modules online, none of them were structured enough, nor provided the quality of instruction I was looking for.

I was looking for intensive training in a short timeframe; I was looking for a boot camp. A quick online search led me to The Iron Yard. After speaking with the campus director of the school and the instructor of the class, I knew I found what I wanted and needed.

What are you doing / where are you now?

I am currently working for Foundry 119 as a front-end developer. Though I attended the Ruby on Rails class, I learned enough front-end development during the cohort to secure my position with this amazing company.

Looking ahead, I would like to have the skill set of a great full stack developer. With The Iron Yard and Foundry 119, I’m well on my way.

Any final thoughts, things you’d like to share with the audience?

The time I spent at The Iron Yard was amazing. While the training was superb, I was impressed with how far The Iron Yard went to help it’s students integrate with the web development community.

The Iron Yard was constantly hosting MeetUps with developers or having industry leaders give lectures. The connections I made during my time there will last throughout my career.

You can find more about Patrick here: http://pvecchione.github.io

Leave a Reply

About John Saddington

trying to win the internet.