Drew Kerr: A Future Small Business Owner and Entrepreneur

From time to time we like to share the exciting “stories in the making” and allow you to get to know more about current students and graduates. From this vantage you can learn more about where they’ve come from and where they are going.

We hope their stories inspire you to think much bigger about your career in software and technology!

This is Drew Kerr’s story.

drew-kerr

What were you doing before The Iron Yard?

Since graduating from Baylor, I have worked numerous jobs that have been extremely stressful and low in pay. I was accepted into law school and slated to go for the fall of 2012.

A couple weeks before orientation I found out that I was denied financial aid and I would not be able to attend law school. I moved to Austin a couple months later and continued working odd jobs. 9-1-1 operator, bank teller and now I am a patient access rep at a hospital while finishing up The Iron Yard’s Rails program.

What made you ultimately decide on attending The Iron Yard?

Well I was interested in becoming a developer and that started late in the spring of 2013. Going into that summer I started doing a Codecademy course on JavaScript and I didn’t really like it.

It was until the spring of 2014 that I got serious about learning how to code. I started with Python, HTML and CSS. I loved it but it was hard to decipher through all of the information out there.

One of my good friends recommended a coding bootcamp and I started to do a lot of research on them. After going to a job fair in October of 2014, I ran into some representatives from the Iron Yard.They gave me a card and I checked out their site about a month later. I applied and I was accepted.

What are you doing / where are you now?

I am still a student and I am currently finishing up my final project. Ultimately my goal is to start my own business and work to get more minority representation in the tech industry but I want to focus more on the youth.

I believe the earlier children are introduced to something then it can become more of the norm for them. I want to do this in my hometown of New Orleans where I can focus on children who don’t have the best opportunities to learn.

Until then I would like to start my career as a developer and continue to learn, preferably with a company that focuses on big data.

Any final thoughts, things you’d like to share with the audience?

I just want to say that I am extremely humbled and honored to be a student at The Iron Yard. I truly see doors opening for me that would not have been a possibility prior to attending.

I’ve learned so much during this course and I am excited about my future. Thank you to everyone at The Iron Yard because you are helping others change their lives for the better!

Leave a Reply

About John Saddington

trying to win the internet.