Stories from the Field

Every week we share some of the amazing stories that we get to hear about from our students as they struggle (and succeed) at becoming software developers. These stories are their own, in their own words, and sometimes raw and uncut.

But they are real and authentic, just as they should be.

via Bobby Towers:

For 3 months though, I think I came a long way though, especially with just 2-3 weeks for this final project. I’m surprised I built something as cool as this!

via Katherine Trammell:

I’ve had moments where I was excited to learn, and moments where I felt like I was the dumbest person on the planet. I never expected this journey to be this hard. I knew I would have to learn a massive amount of information but until you are in this process you don’t really understand what it would be like.

via Jeanie House:

The search is on for work as an indie iOS dev. I recently left a 3 month – 80 hour a week mind f#@k. I can tell you that I have always had a great work ethic but now it is more than incredible.

via Alex McConnell:

Also excited to be looking for a job for the first time in over a decade. The idea is a bit mind boggling!

via Kate Balducci:

 About 3 months ago I embarked on a life changing journey of attending the Ruby on Rails class at The Iron Yard (a coding bootcamp). When I think back to how little I knew about programming at that point and what I have come to learn thus far, it just blows my mind.

via Jacob Burkhart:

Attending a code school and graduating has been one of the toughest challenges of my life. Staying up very late almost every night of the week, and cramming as much information in my head as possible on a day to day basis. Now that it’s over, besides all of the fun web development tools I know how to use and implement, I have a new found love for working and my overall work ethic has improved.

via Richard Herndon:

Data is just cool! We did the normal thing of writing a program in class and then did homework on the same subject.  This one just clicked with me. I completed all of the homework!

Have a great weekend folks! To infinity and beyond!

Leave a Reply

About John Saddington

trying to win the internet.