“Extending” My Knowledge

By Ben Gohlke, Mobile Instructor

I presented at another iOS meetup last week. It marks probably the tenth or so presentation I’ve given in a meetup-type setting. They do seem to get a little easier each time. Let’s hope the same thing will happen after I get a few lectures under my belt in my first cohort at The Iron Yard.
It’s interesting to explain something to a group of people when you yourself have only learned about it hours earlier. It’s exciting to learn something new, but only after you have to explain it to someone else do you truly begin to understand it. That’s pretty much how my presentation on extensions for iOS 8 went. I hope that’s how much of the “holes” in my iOS development knowledge will fill in as I move through the curriculum for my class. Vastly improving my knowledge and expertise as an iOS developer by teaching others how to build apps is certainly not a bad side effect of this new teaching gig. I expect to get much more than that from the experience, but that’s not a bad outcome in itself.

Want to learn to create iOS apps for yourself or get a job building them for the best companies in your area? Check out our classes!

B.T.dubs, if you want to see the slides from the meetup talk, look here.

Reposted from Ben’s personal blog.

Leave a Reply

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.