Tafiq Momin: The Iron Yard Journey

This is a story from Tafiq Momin, a recent graduate of our Houston Front End Engineering program. 

After these 12 weeks, I feel like I can do so many things with what I’ve learned. I think the biggest takeaway for me from this was not just HTML, CSS, and Javascript, but the fact that I learned how to learn about these languages. I can now apply that to other frameworks, libraries, and programming languages that I want to pursue learning in the future. When I think about the way to approach things now, it’s so very different from when I started. The one thing I think I regret not doing more of is blogging about it. I have so much more to say about each individual project or lesson that I learned, and I will continue to blog more about it. But I kind of wanted to give an overview of what I went through over the last 3 months and what I gained from it.

I don’t want to forget to mention all the guest speakers we’ve had throughout this whole 12 weeks. Entrepreneurs, software developers, designers, and even people with an ambition to start up a company have all taken time out to come talk to us. All of the advice, information, and knowledge presented at these talks have really helped me in so many ways. I can’t thank all of them enough for it.

I also want to say how much respect and admiration I have for everyone at the Iron Yard. From Matt to Jesse to Brian to all of my classmates, they all helped me and continue to help me in so many ways to help me succeed. Everyone has everyone’s back. It’s like a family. I don’t think you can find another culture like that elsewhere, especially not in school. That’s the kind of culture you need if you want to succeed in a course like this because there will be times where it gets tough and you start questioning whether you can even finish or why you even took the course. To have a great instructor who goes above and beyond to make sure that you have the tools and necessary information to get through everything is invaluable, and that’s what I feel like I had and continue to have with the Iron Yard.

Read the entire post on Tafiq’s Medium account. (It’s worth taking time to read the whole post!)

Leave a Reply

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.