Peter Oritz: Change

This is a post from Peter Ortiz about taking the leap and joining The Iron Yard.

It took me until I was in my 30’s to realize I’ve lived my life far too passively. I was 31 years old, married, with 3 kids. I had a good job, but no passion for what I was doing. I was living pay check to pay check and most of the money I earned went towards bills. This was not the life I had envisioned for myself and my family. I realized that if I didn’t change my life, I was going to continue on this cycle. I always had an interest in computers and technology, so my plan was to learn the skills needed to start a new career as a software developer.

I thought I would teach myself how to code, but soon after trying to learn on my own, I found out this was gonna be a lot harder than I anticipated. Luckily, while searching the internet for information I came across an ad for The Iron Yard Academy. They offer intensive, three-month programming courses and help you get a job offer once you graduate. I did a ton of research and reached out to a few graduates. Everyone had nothing but great things to say about the program and said it was the best decision they ever made. So I decided to apply and after going through a few interviews, I got accepted to their Ruby on Rails course that starts in January!

Learning a new skill like programming will give me the ability to find a great job that I will enjoy. I know there’s a ton of work ahead, but I’m up for the challenge. I look forward to the day when I can officially say I’m starting my new career as a software developer.

Deciding to make this change was not easy. I could have stayed within my comfort zone and continued on the same path, but I knew there was something better out there for me. I just had to go out, find it, and make it happen. A lot of us go about our day-to-day without taking time to think about what we’re doing with our lives. Some of us just accept life for what it is, even if we’re unhappy. We repeat the same actions every day as if our lives are controlling us, rather than us being in control of our lives. Perhaps we’re scared of change, or afraid to leave our comfort zone? We’ll create a million reasons (excuses) why we can’t change, and that’s why we don’t change.

My journey has just begun and I know I have a long road ahead of me, but taking the first step is always the hardest. I know I will succeed cause I will not allow myself to fail. If you’re reading this and have some of the same feelings I had. I would tell you to stop focusing on the negatives, believe in yourself, and take that much-needed first step. Once you change your thought process and focus on your goals, you’ll be surprised on how the universe will give you the resources and opportunities needed to meet them. Trust in yourself and just do it! It’s your life, your happiness, and the only one that can stop you from fulfilling your dreams is you.

Read the original post on Peter’s blog.

Leave a Reply

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.