Kyle Van Pelt’s Story: The Future of Education and Why I Joined The Iron Yard

This post was written by Eric Dodds, a Partner at The Iron Yard who oversees marketing and operations. View his profile on our site or follow him on Twitter.

This is a wonderful excerpt from a story by our Atlanta Campus Operations Manager, Kyle Van Pelt. (Scroll to the bottom for a link to the full post.)

Technology is another area where my passion directed me to self-education. I am in the minority of the tech industry because I didn’t graduate in a field related to computers. I graduated with a sport management degree. However, when I got my first taste of the tech world, I was hooked. That was almost four years ago and I have obsessed over “catching up” in knowledge about technology. I’m sure it may be some sort of inferiority complex, but I don’t care. I want to learn as much as I possibly can about how the internet works and how people build businesses through the power of the internet. I want to possess the weapon that Mandela was talking about.

I battle frustration over this frequently, I wish I was learning this stuff 8-10 years ago instead of four. I didn’t though. I didn’t learn like this when I was in school because I think that the current school system isn’t made for people like me. I believe it’s broken and I think I slipped through the cracks.

I graduated high school with a 2.7 GPA and I graduated college with a 2.6. When I look back at that, I feel embarrassed. I often tell people that if I went to school now, I think I would be a straight A student, but I’m not sure if that’s true because I don’t think a thirst for knowledge equals good grades in our system. Especially not for a kinesthetic learner like me. I believe the current education system is absolutely broken for kinesthetic learners and greatly favors auditory learners, which happen to be the minority of Americans.

There is hope though. I hear and read about companies like ALTschool and I’m encouraged. While most people love Coursera, I’m not bullish on the massive open online course format at all. I believe there is too little accountability for massive open online courses to succeed. When I was in college, I saw way too many kids deliberately cheat on their online assignments to fully believe in it, though it is a good attempt.

I believe that the future of education is going to look a lot like The Iron Yard.

In case you don’t know, The Iron Yard is an academy that offers three month intense, immersive classes where non-computer science grads like me can learn to code. The reason I’m so bullish on this is because I’ve seen what their graduates can do. In fact, my brother in-law is a graduate of their iOS class and his code is just as impressive as any other junior developer I’ve met.

I don’t believe that this is the future of education just because it’s related to tech, the gold is in the format…

You can read the entire post on Kyle’s blog. You can also view his profile on our site follow him on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.