“It has only just begun”

Our students drive headlong into 3 months of intense learning, and it can be hard to remember that once class ends, it’s not the end of the road! The focus shifts at that point to refining resumes, cover letters, and online portfolios. It’s difficult in a different way. And, you can’t forget to keep coding! Recent Charleston graduate Kevin hits the nail on the head:

I will never ever be done learning. Everyday I read some snippet about code that makes me want to get lost in pages and pages of articles trying to wrap my head around a new idea. Unfortunately, there are still only so many hours in the day. Now that I am done with school, the job hunt has begun. I am actively applying to numerous awesome jobs. I have already had some interviews and those alone taught me so many lessons. But the biggest lesson, is that it has all just begun. I have barely scraped the surface of what software engineering is.

Leave a comment

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.