“These bruises are a sign of taking risks…”

All of our cohorts are on slightly different schedules this year. While Charleston and Atlanta just graduated this past Friday, front end classes are still going strong in Greenville. Lance Putnam reflects on where he’s been since college and where he’ll go next after The Iron Yard.

With each of these journeys I have had successes and failures and come away from each one slightly bruised. To me though, these bruises are a sign of taking risks and getting my hands dirty with what I have been dealt and what I have dealt to myself. These bruises are my battlefield scars to show what I have been through and the chances I have taken to grow myself and better my professional career. 

At this point, I can say with a great certainty that I have never felt more comfortable about where my professional life will lead me because of my new experience in front-end development. There is still so much left to learn, and this will be a field where there is always something new to be taught, but I am confident as to how I will one day be able to be a creator and developer for startups and companies, and one day, my own business.

Leave a Reply

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.