The Stillness is the Move

There’s a phrase I hear a lot when interviewing potential students that carries a lot of weight:

I can do anything for just three months

Our students will tell a very different story; immersive programming at The Iron Yard is not just anything. It goes far beyond showing up, putting in the extensive hours each week. Day by day, I look at our students as more like superheroes than anything else. Superheroes that are conquering their own brains. Cheesy, I know, but hear me out.

Step into Atlanta Tech Village on any given day (more specifically, the Community Center, where you’ll see our students spread out during lab time) and you’ll notice a silent buzz. It’s a brain power buzz. I know it sounds silly, but I think everyone can feel it. It’s an active stillness, a physical feat only our students can fully understand. As the weeks go by, I see more and more glimpses of recognition from them of how incredibly far they’ve come. You know how they say we only use 10% of our brains? I’m certain The Iron Yard students are up to at least 90% by now.

My proudest moments come when they eagerly show me their apps, original creations handcrafted over dozens of painstaking hours. I struggle to express how unbelievably impressed, proud, I am of them. There’s a song by the Dirty Projectors called The Stillness is the Move that I’m reminded of when I see where all of our students have come from, and where I see them quickly going (great places, in case you were wondering). Yes, I’m going to be that cheesy song-quoting person right now:

After all that we’ve been through
I know we’ll make it after the wait

Sometimes, at The Iron Yard, we’re grinding through the stillness. The intense, focused, stillness, and you’re not quite sure when it’ll move. However, we’re moving daily; it takes those breaks in concentration to realize how far you’ve truly come.

Leave a Reply

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.