Trying something new – now on TV!

That is a nervous smile. Very nervous.

I’ve been telling people that every day at The Iron Yard, I do something I’ve never done before.  It’s pretty much my dream work experience, constantly experimenting, learning, growing, and reaching outside my comfort zone.  Sometimes, it’s FAR outside that zone.

Calvin and I really stretched our extrovert muscles last week when we got the chance to appear on Lowcountry Live, Charleston’s morning tv talk show.  I’ve had the opportunity to do this twice before, but everytime I artfully dodged, having to appear on camera.  This time, there was no dodging.

To say I was nervous is sort of an understatement.  I’ve never been on live TV before, and the last time I was on any sort of TV was when I was interviewed for the news about a program in my high school – and it did not go well.

I’ve been eating, sleeping, and breathing talking about The Iron Yard the past few weeks (wait – I’ve been doing this for three weeks and now I have to go on TV? what?!), so I figured at least I know what to say. And with our lovely Iron Yard T-shirts, I knew what to wear. And with Calvin by my side, I knew I’d have support.

We were the first guests in the green room for the show, but it slowly filled up with people there to talk about everything from wedding planning to a home for at-risk boys.  It was a great group of people to chat with, even if I felt my feet were a bit underdressed:

Can you tell who works in software and who is a wedding planner? I was a little jealous of the bling.

When it was finally our turn, it became clear that we had nothing to worry about.  The host was incredibly friendly and when you have something as awesome as changing people’s lives through code education to talk about, the words just come tumbling out.  If you want to check out the Sally and Calvin tv debut, it’s online for your viewing pleasure:

WCIV-TV | ABC News 4 – Charleston News, Sports, Weather

Leave a Reply

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.