Part Two – The Opportunity

This is a continuation from Part 1 of Joe’s story. Check it out here.

Suffice it to say week one kicked my ass. Nothing could have prepared me for the shell-shock that was the deep end of the coding pool. The material jabbed me like a million needles as if I had jumped into cold water.

I was two steps away from telling Mason and Eric I was going to walk. Seeing a classmate go through with that decision moments before triggered something deep inside of me. I thought to myself, “You are going to regret not sticking this out!”.

A  gut feeling, to say the least.

The next 11 weeks proved to be absolutely life-changing. A whirlwind of emotion engulfed me for the next three months. The highest of highs, and the lowest of lows. In my personal life I was faced with the repercussions of past actions and poor decision making while facing the longest mental marathon I’ve ever encountered. Those decisions, both personal and professional, resulted in my family life in almost complete ruins.

I did the only thing I learned how to do: Learn from those mistakes, don’t repeat them again, try and make amends, and fight through it keeping my head up high. This is an attitude that has benefited me both mentally and physically.

I am a better person today because of it. It has opened my eyes to many things, such as being able to see more clearly the relationship I have with coworkers – their determination and fervor and passion to build not just a company but a mission-driven organization; they believe in what they do. These are colleagues of mine that I wake up every morning enthralled to give 110% for.

My entire professional life, or lack thereof, I have been searching for an organization I like and admire who would just give me a chance to prove my worth, and one that in return I would give 110% to. I have been lucky enough to find that company: The Iron Yard.

Looking back on the past 6 months and even 3 or 4 years beyond it has become evident how integral a role timing plays in one’s life. So many bad events occurred that led to good ones and vice versa.

I am in a place now where there is a plethora of opportunity and great things on the horizon. I believe with the deepest of convictions that what we are doing at The Iron Yard is going to change so many lives just like it has done mine. I am truly blessed to be part of such an awesome team who I am excited to work with day in and day out.

In such a short amount of time I have learned so much about so many different things from the amazing people I work with; from the logic that goes into programming, to what it takes to be successful, to being incredible husbands, fathers, friends, boyfriends, girlfriends, brothers, sisters, coworkers, mentors and beyond.

It is now crystal clear that all of these things combined, coupled with pure happenstance, luck, and determination, is the key to a happy and fruitful life. Here is to keeping your head up, your destination clear, and the future.

It was an opportunity, when given, that I couldn’t refuse and I hope the very same for you in the very near future!

Leave a Reply

About theironyard

The Iron Yard exists to create exceptional growth and mentorship for people, their companies and their ideas through code education and startup accelerators.